2018 Sarasvati Book Award Applications

The Association for the Study of Women and Mythology (ASWM)

Sarasvati Award for Nonfiction

The Sarasvati Book Award solicits nonfiction books published during 2015-2017 in the field of goddess studies/women and mythology. Named for the Hindu goddess of learning and the creative arts, the Sarasvati award from the Association for the Study of Women and Mythology (ASWM) honors creative work in the field of goddess and mythology studies. The award will be presented during ASWM’s biennial conference, Las Vegas, Nevada, 16-17 March 2018. Book submissions must be received by ASWM Sarasvati Award committee no later than 15 November 2017.  Books must be submitted by publishers only.  Anthologies and self-published books are not eligible for this award. 

The 2017 deadline for submissions has now passed. Past winners of this prestigious award for the study of women and mythology include:

  • Miriam Robbins Dexter & Victor Mair and Cambria Press for Sacred Display: Divine and Magical Female Figures of Eurasia
  • Elizabeth Wayland Barber and W. W. Norton for The Dancing Goddesses: Folklore, Archaeology, and the Origins of European Dance
  • Adrienne Mayor and  Princeton University Press for The Amazons: Lives and Legends of Warrior Women across the Ancient World

 See the link for submission form.

2018 ASWM Sarasvati Submission Form-2

Posted in ASWM, Awards, Calls for Submissions Tagged with: , , , , , ,